Gluten is a common element in many different foods. It is available in different types of food such as pizza, cereal, bread, and pasta.
Gluten offers no essential nutrient to the people; it rather makes people mat. People, who have celiac disease, react to gluten.
Their immune system cannot tolerate gluten. Gluten-free cottage cheese develops inflammation, which can damage the intestinal tracts and different other parts of the body.
Whenever they eat food, which contains gluten, it acts as a poison for them.
Since cheese contains higher amounts of fat, it can cause a person to gain weight easily. Does the cheese contain gluten? It is a common question. We will give the answer to the question in this article.
Is Cottage Cheese Gluten-Free?
The Cottage Cheese is fresh. It has an amazingly delicious, fresh, and mild taste. Cottage cheese does not contain higher amounts of fat.
It is a low-fat and low-calorie cheese. 100 grams of cottage cheese contains 98 calories and 4.3 grams of cheese.
Cheese confuses Fitness-Freaks.
There are many people who follow a strict diet for maintaining fitness. Many people also have strict diet goals.
Cheese threatens all of these people. But gluten is present in wheat, pieces of bread, flour, or other types of cereals.
Unprocessed cheese does not have gluten, at all. However, processed cheese may have gluten.
The information on the packaging informs the user about the cottage cheese. So, read the contents of the cheese and decide whether it has gluten or not.
When Does Cheese Contain Gluten?
A type of cheese may contain wheat starch or any other element. There are different ingredients that have gluten.
For instance, wheat, rye, or barley has gluten.
If companies add any of these ingredients to the cheese, the processed cheese will consist of gluten. It will not be a gluten-free cheese.
If you go for purchasing the cheese from the deli counter, you should purchase the cheese from a clean shop.
The machine, used for cutting the cheese into slices, should not cause cross-contact with the cottage cheese.
Is Cottage Cheese Gluten-Free?
Now, we come to the central question of whether cottage cheese is gluten-free. There are many brands of cheese, which contain wheat starch or modified form of food starch.
Processed cottage cheese may not be gluten-free but the unprocessed natural cottage cheese would be gluten-free.
You should make sure to check all the labels on the processed cheese.
Some processed cheese does not have any bits of gluten. So, you can include low-fat and low-calorie cottage cheese in your diet. It does not add many calories to your diet.
Make sure to eat the cottage cheese in moderation. Anything in excess is harmful to the health.
Cottage cheese is a gluten-free cheese that does not have any gluten natural. However, you should be cautious about processed cottage cheese. It may contain gluten.
I am Margaret Anderson founder of TheStaticFoodBin.com.
I am a professional content writer especially in food, health and fitness-related content. I have several food and fitness-related blogs and TheStaticFoodBin is one of them.